The Poetry Kit





How-to Books





Who's Who




Other Competitions

short story, article, novel and misc

How to Enter Them - Beware of scams.

Please Note

The information given here is for GUIDANCE ONLY. While every effort is made to ensure that it is accurate,

before entering any listed competition you should obtain full rules and an entry form from the organisers.



First Prize


31st July 2015 1st   €2,000

entry  €15.00

Sean O’Faoláin Short Story Competition

Two winners, 1st place will receive €2,000 prize, publication in Southword, a week’s residency at Anam Cara Writers’ and Artists’ Retreat and an invitation to read at the Cork Short Story Festival in September.  2nd place will receive €500.00 prize, publication in Southword. A Longlist and a shortlist will be published for Highly Commended entries.

Entries should be no more than 3,000 words in length, previously unpublished and a receipt of paypal payment plus a cover letter and your submissions should be sent to

Entry: €15.00 Deadline: July 31st

Judge: Danielle McLoughlin.

Her stories have appeared in The Stinging Fly, Southword, Long Story, Short, The Irish Timesand many others. She has won a number of prizes for short fiction including the Writing Spirit Award for Fiction 2010, the From the Well Short Story Competition 2012, the William Trevor/Elizabeth Bowen International Short Story Competition 2012, and more. Her début collection is forthcoming from The Stinging Fly.   Further Info:

31st August 2015 1st  $1000

entry $20

New Millennium Writings 40th Literary Competition

August 31, 2015 deadline for: "Love Wins" Essay-

Top Award Winner in each category will receive $1,000 plus publication.

Each submitter receives a free copy of the anthology.

30th September 2015 1st Prize €1,000

entry ???

The Caterpillar Short Story Prize

The Caterpillar features stories for children from the likes of Michael

Morpurgo, Ian Whybrow and Frank Cottrell Boyce. They are looking for a story

written by an adult for children (aged 7-11). The prize is open to anyone, as long as the work is original and previously unpublished. It can be on any subject, and the word limit is 2,000 words.

The winner will receive a prize of €1,000 and their story will be published in the

winter issue of The Caterpillar.

The competition will be judged by the publishers of The Caterpillar and The

Moth, Rebecca O’Connor and Will Govan.

For more details go to